Planning KS3 with Bloom’s Taxonomy

3d blooms As much as the concept of Bloom’s hierarchical structure really appeals to my quirky need to find structure in most things, I HATE that ‘some’ think every lesson should be a 60 minute dash to the top of the mountain.

And, why does it have to be a mountain? I quite like it flipped; it’s fun to start with the creative and then work backwards, exploring why things might not have turned out as well as they could. I like it circular: jumping in at any point and I like it in 3D which combines knowledge and the cognitive process. I need to think more about the relationships of creating order out of chaos and chaos out of order but either way, both are welcome in my classroom.

Something I can’t seem to tame into my fundamental need for structure is the way verbs are listed under each of the Bloom’s stages. On the Bloom’s page under the Progression tab on this site, I have included one version of verb classification if only to remind myself that I’m not happy with it; surely ‘infer’ should come higher up the scale than ‘comprehension’ – trying to teach it daily, I find it is a higher order thinking skill that exists way down, deep in the subconscious of a lot of my students. Do boys find this harder than girls? I’m open for discussion on this.

Much to the detriment of my appalling OFSTED observations (I assume but never asked), on my journey through the unit, I like to meander across my mountain over a 6 week period; I want everyone to appreciate the landscape, the flora and the fauna and have a broader understanding of their environment before, if not reaching the summit, then hopefully coming in sight of it. How else can they feel enthused, knowledgeable and motivated enough to commit to their own opinions and have the courage to adopt opinions on the ideas of others?

‘Wisely and slow. They stumble that run fast’

Lots of Bloomin’ stuff on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

